Dream meaning of the number 40

In Chinese dream interpretations, there are so-called “threshold numbers.” For example, the night before my last birthday, I dreamt of the number of my age. I realized that my subconscious was telling me that I have reached a threahold of old age.

There are many numbers that constitute a threshold age depending on the gender of the dreamer.

Men dream of their threshold number of old age. A writer friend called me by phone to tell me that he suddenly realized his age and a feeling of becoming old. “I am 72 now!” Former Russian president Yeltsin said to former president Clinton in Moscow in Russian: “Can you imagine I am now a pensioner! A pensioner!” Clinton stood there without reaction because there were no interpreters around them when Yeltsin said it to Clinton.

Women seem to dream of their threshold numbers of age more frequently than men. Women may dream of the numbers 25, 26, 29, 30, 40, 45 and 50, and suddenly realize that they are no longer young anymore. It is often a lament of the loss of youth, and a realization that one has reached middle age, becoming an older woman, or the arrival of menopause.

In this interpretation, the numbers 30, 40 and 50 hold more significance for a woman than for a man. For men, the numbers 69, 79, 80 seem to be more significant.

The number 60 as age seems to be significant to both men and women. It is a symbolic threshold number that indicates the beginning of old age.

About masterchensays

Victor Chen, herbalist, alternative healthcare lecturer, Chinese affairs analyst, retired journalist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.