Can dogs go to Buddhist temples?

In response.

I have not seen dogs being brought into Buddhist temples, however, I have seen dogs in the back yards of Buddhist temples where the monks live. The dogs there seem to belong to the temple. I did not see any dogs on the grounds of the Fo Guang Shan (Buddhist Light Mountain) near Kaohsiung, Taiwan when I visited. There were no dogs on the premises of the many temples within the city of Taipei that I know of, and I have not seen any dogs being taken into the Buddhist-Taoist temples.

In general, animals are not usually brought into Buddhist temples.

About masterchensays

Victor Chen, herbalist, alternative healthcare lecturer, Chinese affairs analyst, retired journalist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.