Sugar kills

Sugar kills

In October, 2003, at a conference in Washingdon D.C., a professor saw me drinking tea.

He asked me about the benefits of tea, so I told him:  “I drink tea because it cuts down sugar absorption.”  Then he asked me to write down some eating tips.  I wrote them down on a paper napkin and the last statement I wrote down was:  “Sugar kills.”  A second professor at the conference later came up to me and asked me to do the same thing.  I wrote them down again on a paper napkin but I did not write down the last line.  The second professor compared his list with the list I wrote down for the first professor.  It was discovered that the last statement of the first list was missing from the second professor’s list, so he came back to me and asked me to add the last line:  “Sugar kills.”

On July 18, 2015, Taiwan’s minister of health officially announced that cancer is a metabolic disease.  The explanation is that because of metabolic dysfunction, sugars or polysaccharides such as cellulose, starch, glycogen are imcompletely broken down, and the remnant sugar molecules become food that feed extra cell growth.  It is suggested that cutting down the intake of sugar will greatly reduce the risk of getting cancer.

When I was teaching my students, I always told them that “sugar kills!”  I also said that sugar contributes to obesity, high blood sugar or hyperglycemia, diabetes, and I suggested that sugar may also be a contributing factor to Parkinson’s disease.

Metabolic function in individuals vary greatly, and the ability of metabolism to break down fats and sugars varies greatly among individuals.  The variation in individual metabolic function seems to make some individuals more susceptible to cancer risks than others.

Vegetarianism with minimal consumption of sugary foods may therefore contribute greatly to the reduction of cancer risks.

About masterchensays

Victor Chen, herbalist, alternative healthcare lecturer, Chinese affairs analyst, retired journalist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.